Comprised of more than 350 shops, restaurants, and services the Danforth is a destination neighbourhood for delicious food, entertaining theatre, lively pubs, distinctive retailers and cafés.
Danforth Avenue was named after Asa Danforth, an American contractor who was commissioned in 1799 to cut the Danforth, but he actually didn’t build it. That task was completed by the Don and Danforth Plank Rd. Company in 1851. Danforth Ave is remembered as a dusty country road, a bi-way that ran through open fields, market gardens, brickyards, past houses, churches and the occasional hotel or roadhouse.
The single most important event in the Danforth’s history came in 1919 with the completion of the Bloor Viaduct Bridge over the Don Valley, connecting the Danforth area to the rest of the city via Bloor Street. This marked the beginning of a population surge, and greater access to Danforth Avenue businesses.
The Danforth’s rich history can be seen all around the area, with many local historic attractions. Here are a few of the notables:
Playter Farmhouse – 28 Playter Crescent.
The Playter family was among the earliest settlers in Toronto. Captain George Playter, a Loyalist officer, was granted several lots and built a farm on the river meadows on the west side of the Don in the mid 1870s. The decorative “white” brick patterns of the farmhouse can still be seen from the Danforth when you look north on Playter Crescent.